WASHOUGAL, WASH. (July 29, 2017)  Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s Shane McElrath and Sean Cantrell both scored moto finishes inside the top 10 at a slick and unpredictable Washougal MX Park circuit during Round 9 of the Pro Motocross Championship Series. McElrath scored 11-8 moto finishes for ninth overall, while rookie Sean Cantrell tied his best overall finish of 12th overall.
Thankful the conditions at Washougal were warm and dry, McElrath still knew that the track would be technical with the changing shadows from the picturesque trees. He had to overcome a mid-pack start, but was able to nearly break into the top-10 in 11th. In Moto 2, he improved his start and was able to score eighth, giving him ninth overall.

“Washougal is very beautiful to come to but it has its unique challenges,” said McElrath. “I’m happy to get out of here healthy and I’m really looking forward to the final push for the last three rounds. I think we can get some good results.”

Rookie Cantrell has been able to use this season to learn and make his first motos as a pro. It’s been an up and down season, but Cantrell was able to have a solid showing at Washougal, almost tying his best moto result in Moto 1 in eighth. His 16th in Moto 2 pushed him just outside the top-10 in 12th.

“This class is very tough, but I feel like I’ve learned so much since the season started,” said Cantrell. “It would be nice to finish the season strong and the Moto 1 finish is hopefully just the start of that as we head to Unadilla.”

The riders wore the SE Air Squadra Navy and Orange Racewear, along with the SE4 Composite McQueen Helmet. See all of the 2018 gear sets and the 2018 Moto Helmets online and at your local TLD retailer.

250 Class Results (Moto Results)

  1. Joey Savatgy, Kawasaki (7-1)
  2. Zach Osborne, Husqvarna (4-3)
  3. Dylan Ferrandis, Yamaha (3-4)
  4. Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki (2-5)
  5. RJ Hampshire, Honda (6-2)
  6. Aaron Plessinger, Yamaha (1-9)
  7. Jeremy Martin, Honda (9-6)
  8. Colt Nichols, Yamaha (10-7)
  9. Shane McElrath, KTM (11-8)
  10. Mitchell Harrison, Yamaha (5-15)
  1. Sean Cantrell, KTM (8-16)

250 Class Points, After 9 of 12 Rounds

  1. Zach Osborne, Husqvarna, 377
  2. Jeremy Martin, Honda, 303
  3. Alex Martin, KTM, 296
  4. Joey Savatgy, Kawasaki, 281
  5. Dylan Ferrandis, Yamaha, 264
  6. Aaron Plessinger, Yamaha, 256
  7. Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki, 254
  8. Colt Nichols, Yamaha, 213
  9. Mitchell Harrison, Yamaha, 212
  10. Shane McElrath, KTM, 192
  1. Sean Cantrell, KTM, 131