Photo: Hoppenworld

The inaugural Tennessee National and round number three of the 2013 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is in the record books. In the 450 class, it was Monster/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto winning his fifth-straight moto of the 2013 season, but with two crashes in moto two and a 1-4 score on the day, his win streak ended with Red Bull/KTM’s Ryan Dungey taking the moto two and overall win at Muddy Creek. With RV2 laying on the ground early in moto two, Dungey went to work and, after wearing out Muscle Milk/Honda’s Justin Barcia, made the pass that would secure his first moto and overall win of the year.

In the 250 class, Red Bull/KTM’s Ken Roczen looked dominant early on qualifying #1 and winning moto one—his fourth moto win in five tries so far in 2013—but in the end, his teammate Marvin Musquin would take the win with a 2-2 score on the day. Musquin and Dungey used their KTM machines and their consistency to sweep the top step podium for their Roger Decoster led team. Dungey (3-1) was joined on the podium by Bam Bam Barcia (2-2) and RV2 (1-4), and Musquin stood atop with GEICO/Honda’s Eli Tomac (4-1) and the 250 MX Championship points leader Roczen (1-4).

In the lap time battle, it was Villopoto again bringing the heat (1:58.382) which just edged out Barcia’s (1:58.440) for the fastest lap of the day. In the deep ruts of Tennessee, the two pushed each other in moto one and were the only two men to break the two-minute mark all day. While most the fast laps came from moto one, Dungey—who had the third fastest lap of the day—threw up his best time (2:00.055) in moto two en-route to his moto win.

Eli Tomac has shown himself to be the fastest man when the track is at its worst. Photo: Hoppenworld
Eli Tomac has shown himself to be the fastest man when the track is at its worst. Photo: Hoppenworld

In the 250 Class, the fastest lap of the day came during the gnarliest conditions of the day from Eli Tomac (2:00.647) in 250 moto two. Eli and the Ken were the only moto winners of the day and the only ones to drop under the 2:01 mark on the small bores. Musquin may have only had the fifth fastest time (2:01.735), but he was the man that was mistake-free in Tennessee and the Frenchman standing on the top step when the trophies were passed out.

You can check out the top ten 250 and 450 times from the Tennessee National below. Scroll down to see how all four motos broke down lap-for-lap with MotoXAddicts’ new and improved lap-time comparison charts.

Full 2013 Tennessee National results here>>>

Top 10 450 Times Top 10 250 Times
1. Ryan Villopoto – 1:58.382
2. Justin Barcia – 1:58.440
3. Ryan Dungey – 2:00.055
4. James Stewart – 2:00.316
5. Trey Canard  – 2:01.280
6. Mike Alessi – 2:01.283
7. Ryan Sipes – 2:01.343
8. Clement Desalle – 2:01.600
9. Tyla Rattray – 2:01.600
10. Josh Grant – 2:02.419
1. Eli Tomac- 2:00.647
2. Ken Roczen – 2:00.984
3. Blake Baggett- 2:01.509
4. Zach Osborne – 2:01.573
5. Marvin Musquin – 2:01.735
6. Joey Savatgy – 2:01.821
7. Justin Bogle – 2:02.874
8. Cooper Webb – 2:02.914
9. Kyle Cunningham – 2:03.763
10. Jason Anderson  – 2:03.904


Each graph charts the lap times of the top five finishers in each race. You can run your cursor over the lines to see which rider the line signifies and that rider’s time for each lap.

The best improvement on Steven Loyer’s new charts is the ability to remove riders from the graph. Click on a rider’s name on the right to remove them from the chart so you can run riders’ times against each other heads up. Also, riders are colored to match their bike brand.

Full 2013 250 & 450 Championship Points here>>>

Follow MotoXAddicts on Twitter for all your SX-MX updates>>>


Dan Lamb is a 12+ year journalist and the owner of MotoXAddicts.