Photo by: Chase Yocom

Heading into the penultimate round of the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross 250MX Championship in Mechanicsville, Maryland, Star Racing / Yamaha’s Cooper Webb carried an 81-point lead over his teammate Alex Martin and Monster Energy / Pro Circuit / Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy—who were tied for second. All the #17 had to do today was not lose more than 31 points to either rider and he would leave the 2016 Budds Creek National with his first-ever professional motocross #1 plate.

In the opening moto, Cooper hit the deck twice on lap one and gave himself more work than he wanted. After lap one, Webb was already up to 26th, and by the end of the moto, the red plate holder crossed the line in sixth. In the final moto, Webb again was buried in the pack and crossed the line in 18th after lap one. Webb kept his cool and, for the next 30 minutes, calmly worked his way up to third. After crossing the line with a 6-3 on the day, Webb was fourth overall, but most importantly, he was officially crowned the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross 250MX Champion.

The #17 will now be eligible to pick a permanent single digit number just in time to start his 450 career with the Monster Energy / Factory Yamaha squad in 2017. Congrats to Star Racing / Yamaha on their third-straight 250MX Championship and a huge congratulations to Cooper Webb on his first-ever 250MX Championship.


  1. Zach Osborne (4-1)
  2. Alex Martin (1-4)
  3. Austin Forkner (5-2)
  4. Adam Cianciarulo (2-5)
  5. Cooper Webb (6-3)
  6. Aaron Plessinger (8-6)
  7. Justin Hill (10-7)
  8. Mitchell Oldenburg (11-10)
  9. Joey Savatgy (3-34)
  10. Christopher Alldredge (12-11)


  1. Cooper Webb, 457 – Wins Championship
  2. Alex Martin, -73
  3. Joey Savatgy, -96
  4. Austin Forkner, -126
  5. Jeremy Martin, -136
  6. Aaron Plessinger, -144
  7. Zach Osborne, -161
  8. Adam Cianciarulo, -222
  9. Mitchel Oldenburg, -242
  10. Arnaud Tonus, -244

Presented by