NEW BERLIN, N.Y. – Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Marvin Musquin gained another 10 points toward the 450MX Championship chase on Saturday after a solid second-place finish from Round 10 of the 2019 AMA Pro Motocross Championship at Unadilla MX in New Berlin, New York. With two rounds remaining, Musquin sits second overall in the premier class title fight.


Qualifying fifth overall earlier in the day, Musquin got off to a top-five start in Moto 1 as he battled his way to a podium position on the opening lap. On lap six, Musquin powered his KTM 450 SX-F FACTORY EDITION into the second-place position and he set his sights on the leader out front. He rode a good pace for the remainder of the moto, ultimately securing second. In Moto 2, he shot off the line to capture the holeshot and early lead. After leading two laps, he made a mistake and got passed, and from there he battled his way to another second-place finish in Moto 2.


Musquin: “I’m pretty happy with my day but I wish I would have given it a better fight in the second moto. I felt good in both motos but at the end I started making mistakes. Overall, it’s a good day but I wanted more. I have good memories here – winning my first 250 race here in 2013 – so of course I want more of that but I’m happy to gain 10 points on Eli Tomac in the overall championship.”


Webb, the second-place qualifier, didn’t get the best start in Moto 1 as he rounded the opening lap in ninth. He immediately put his head down and charged up to sixth by lap five, where he sat within striking distance of a top-five position. With about five laps to go, he ended up pulling off the track due to pain in his left knee. Webb and his team made the tough decision to not race the second moto and the North Carolina native will head home and get evaluated by his doctor as soon as possible.


Next Race: Budds Creek National – August 17, 2019


450MX Results

  1. Ken Roczen, HON, (1-1)
  2. Marvin Musquin, KTM, (2-2)
  3. Zach Osborne, HQV, (4-4)


  1. Benny Bloss, KTM, (9-7)
  2. Justin Bogle, KTM, (10-9)
  3. Henry Miller, KTM, (13-14)
  4. Cooper Webb, KTM, (37-DNS)


250MX Results

  1. Dylan Ferrandis, YAM, (2-1)
  2. Adam Cianciarulo, KAW, (1-2)
  3. Chase Sexton, HON, (3-3)


  1. Shane McElrath, KTM, (8-5)
  2. Derek Drake, KTM, (14-16)


450MX Standings

  1. Eli Tomac, 426 points
  2. Marvin Musquin, 386
  3. Ken Roczen, 385


  1. Cooper Webb, 324
  2. Justin Bogle, 208
  3. Blake Baggett, 175


250MX Standings

  1. Adam Cianciarulo, 441 points
  2. Dylan Ferrandis, 413
  3. Justin Cooper, 382
  4. Shane McElrath, 210 
  5. Cameron Mcadoo, 121
  6. Derek Drake, 83

Dan Lamb is a 12+ year journalist and the owner of MotoXAddicts.