Chad Reed recorded his only MXoN moto win in 2011. Feature photo by: Hopppenworld

The last 15 years of the Monster Energy Motocross of Nations has been a great era for the event, discounting the 2004 race, which was just before Team USA got serious again, the last 15 years have seen some really good MXoN’s.

An incredible record from Antonio Cairoli who won a moto in 2006, and then dominated the 2012 and 2013 events with 1-1 scores. He also won one in 2009 in Italy, before being blasted out of the first corner and out of the race.

Stefan Everts obviously at the end of his career got four race wins, two in 2004 and two in 2006. Also with four wins are Team French legend, Gautier Paulin, Team USA legend Ryan Villopoto and Team Netherlands legend Jeffrey Herlings.

Romain Febvre joins to Team USA legends in Ricky Carmichael and Ryan Dungey with three race wins each. RC like Everts was nearing the end of his career.

Two race wins go to Ben Towney from 2005 and 2010 and joining him are 2017 and 2018 MXoN heroes Max Anstie and Glenn Coldenhoff.

The big question to ask, who moved up the list after this weekends event. Can Jeffrey Herlings join Cairoli at the top with six race wins, or will Jason Anderson or Gautier Paulin move up a notch. Or maybe Glenn Coldenhoff or Kevin Strijbos?

AMA based riders have 15 race wins in the last 15 years and FIM 29 race wins. Since the GP riders started to dominate this event, AMA riders have just three wins to GP 18 wins. A big difference from the 1980s and 1990s when Team USA riders usually won the majority of the races.

Putting it a little more into perspective, Team USA have won 13 of the races, France 9, Holland 6, Italy 6, Belgium 5, New Zealand and England 2 and Germany and Australia 1 each.

19 race Winners

1. Antonio Cairoli six race wins

2. Gautier Paulin, Stefan Everts, Jeffrey Herlings and Ryan Villopoto four race wins

3. Ricky Carmichael, Romain Febvre and Ryan Dungey three race wins

4. Ben Townley, Max Anstie, Glenn Coldenhoff two race wins

5. Mickael Pichon, Seb Pourcel, James Stewart, Chad Reed, Ken Roczen, Kevin Strijbos, Justin Barcia and Jason Anderson one race win each.


15 years of moto winners

2004 Everts-Everts-Pichon

2005 RC-RC- Townley

2006 Everts-Cairoli-Everts

2007 Villopoto-RC-Villopoto

2008 Stewart-Villopoto-Pourcel

2009 Dungey- Paulin-Cairoli

2010 Dungey-Dungey-Townley

2011 Paulin-Villopoto-Reed

2012 Cairoli-Cairoli-Herlings

2013 Cairoli-Cairoli- Roczen

2014 Paulin-Paulin-Strijbos

2015 Febvre-Febvre-Barcia

2016 Herlings-Febvre-Anderson

2017 Anstie-Anstie-Herlings

2018 Coldenhoff-Coldenhoff-Herlings