Historical Notes
Monster Energy Supercross Races 4-6: Indianapolis, Indiana Lucas Oil Stadium

450SX Class Indianapolis Facts

The first 450SX Class race held in Indianapolis was on March 21, 1992 and Jeff Stanton won on a Honda. The series had not missed the city since the 2020 race was cancelled shortly before they were set to host. 2021 will mark the 29th, 30th, and 31st time the gate will drop for a 450SX Class race in Indianapolis and the first time the city will host multiple rounds in a single season.

The Indianapolis Supercross was held in the RCA Dome 17 times from 1992-2008 before it was demolished. Lucas Oil Stadium took over hosting the Indianapolis Supercross in 2009 meaning 2021 will be the 12th, 13th, and 14th Supercross races held there. Chad Reed closed the RCA Dome with a win in 2008 and opened Lucas Oil Stadium with a win in 2009.

Indianapolis hosted the 300th round of Supercross in 1997 and the 600th round of Supercross in 2015. 2021 Indianapolis will host rounds 695, 696, and 697 of 450SX Class Supercross racing, just missing the 700 mark.

The winner of the Indianapolis Supercross has gone onto win the 450SX title in 19/28 seasons. In the RCA Dome the winner of the Indianapolis Supercross won the title 14/17 times. The winner of the Indianapolis Supercross has failed to win the title the previous three seasons raced there, dropping the city’s title average to 68% from the 76% it sat at after the 2016 season.

Manufacturer Wins in Indianapolis (Last Win)

Kawasaki: 8 (2017)
Honda: 8 (2004)
KTM: 5 (2019)
Yamaha: 4 (2008)
Suzuki: 3 (2009)

Top Winners in Indianapolis

1) Jeremy McGrath: 6 (‘93-’96, ’98, ’00)
2) Ricky Carmichael: 4 (’01, ’03, ’05-’06)
2) Ryan Villopoto: 4 (’10-’13)
4) Ryan Dungey: 3 (’14-’16)
5) Chad Reed: 2 (’08-’09)
5) Marvin Musquin: 2 (’18-’19)

450SX Class: First Time Winners in Indianapolis


250SX Class Indianapolis Facts:

The first 250SX Class race held in Indianapolis was on March 21, 1992 and Jimmy Button won on a Yamaha. 2021 will mark the 29th, 30th, and 31st time the gate will drop for a 250SX Class race in Indianapolis, having the same venue history as the 450SX Class.

The winner of the 250SX Class Indianapolis Supercross has gone onto win their 250SX Class Regional Championship in 14/28 (50%) seasons.

Six different brands have won the 250SX Class Indianapolis Supercross in the previous eight tries. KTM and Kawasaki each have two Indianapolis wins in that time span. Could GasGas make it 7 of the last nine seasons with a different brand?

Travis Pastrana made his professional dirt bike racing debut in Indianapolis on February 12th, 2000 finishing fourth in the 250SX Class. Pastrana would go on to earn one of his 14 career professional victories in Indianapolis on February 10th, 2001 (250SX Class). The next season in Indianapolis, 2002, Pastrana would finish eighth in the 450SX Class for one of his eight career 450SX Class top-10 finishes.

Manufacturer Wins Indy: (Last Win)

Yamaha: 7 (2016)
Kawasaki: 7 (2019)
Suzuki: 6 (2012)
Honda: 4 (2008)
KTM: 3 (2018)
Husqvarna: 1 (2017)

Top Winners in Indianapolis

1) Mickael Pichon: 2 (’95-’96)
1) Davi Millsaps: 2 (’05-’06)
1) Marvin Musquin: 2 (’13, ’15)

250SX Class: First Time Winners in Indianapolis

Michael Brandes: 2000
Chad Reed: 2002
Josh Hansen: 2004
Davi Millsaps: 2005
Ryan Sipes: 2011
Aaron Plessinger: 2016

Premier Class (250 / 450SX) Past Winners in Indianapolis

1992: Jeff Stanton, Honda
1993: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1994: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1995: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1996: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1997: Jeff Emig, Kawasaki
1998: Jeremy McGrath, Yamaha
1999: Ezra Lusk, Honda
2000: Jeremy McGrath, Yamaha
2001: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki
2002: David Vuillemin, Yamaha
2003: Ricky Carmichael, Honda
2004: Mike LaRocco, Honda
2005: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki
2006: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki
2007: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2008: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2009: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2010: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2011: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2012: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2013: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2014: Ryan Dungey, KTM
2015: Ryan Dungey, KTM
2016: Ryan Dungey, KTM
2017: Eli Tomac, Kawasaki
2018: Marvin Musquin, KTM
2019: Marvin Musquin, KTM

Indianapolis Support Class (125 / 250SX) Winners

1992: Jimmy Button, Yamaha
1993: Doug Henry, Honda
1994: Ezra Lusk, Suzuki
1995: Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki
1996: Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki
1997: John Dowd, Yamaha
1998: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki
1999: Ernesto Fonseca, Yamaha
2000: Michael Brandes, Honda
2001: Travis Pastrana, Suzuki
2002: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2003: Branden Jesseman, Suzuki
2004: Josh Hansen, Yamaha
2005: Davi Millsaps, Suzuki
2006: Davi Millsaps, Honda
2007: Ryan Dungey, Suzuki
2008: Trey Canard, Honda
2009: Austin Stroupe, Kawasaki
2010: Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki
2011: Ryan Sipes, Yamaha
2012: Blake Wharton, Suzuki
2013: Marvin Musquin, KTM
2014: Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki
2015: Marvin Musquin, KTM
2016: Aaron Plessinger, Yamaha
2017: Zach Osborne, Husqvarna
2018: Jeremy Martin, Honda


Dan Lamb is a 12+ year journalist and the owner of MotoXAddicts.