The Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship series arrives in the Dallas–Fort Worth metroplex [or DFW Metroplex] for the 41st, 42nd and 43rd races of its storied SX history, but 2021 will mark the first time they will a triple header inside Arlington, Texas’ AT&T Stadium. Rounds 10, 11 and 12 of the 17 round Monster Energy Supercross Championship will all take place in Arlington over the next eight days so if you are anywhere near Arlington, get yourself some tickets and, if not in person, make sure your calendar is cleared for 9 hours of SX this week on NBC Sports or Peacock TV streaming service.

Check out all the winners and the rest of the historical notes and stats from Monster Energy Supercross racing in the DFW Metroplex below.

450SX Class: DFW Metroplex Facts

The first 450SX Class race held in the DFW Metroplex (Dallas, Irving, Arlington, Fort Worth) was on February 28, 1975 in Irving’s Texas Stadium. Jimmy Ellis won the race on a Can-Am and then
won the 1976 race in Texas Stadium as well. Bob Hannah won in 1977, in a race that holds the record for most brands represented: Honda, Yamaha, Kawasaki, Maico, Suzuki, Penton,
Husqvarna, Bultaco, and Ossa.

After a five-year hiatus, the series returned to the DFW Metroplex from 1983-1985 and 1990 at the Dallas Cotton Bowl. Texas Stadium would host the series from 1975-1977, 1986-1989 and 1991-2008 before it was demolished in 2010.

After hosting 26 straight seasons of Supercross racing between two demolished stadiums, DFW skipped the 2009 season while AT&T Stadium finished construction. In 2010 AT&T Stadium hosted their first Supercross race. The series has returned to Arlington every year since. Texas Stadium hosted 25 events throughout their history, the Cotton Bowl hosted four, and AT&T Stadium has hosted 11. That makes the 2021 Arlington Supercross 1 the 41st race held in the DFW Metroplex. AT&T Stadium is set to host three races this season, a first in DFW history.

The winner of the DFW Metroplex Supercross has gone on to win the 450SX Class Championship 17 times in 40 seasons including Eli Tomac—who won the triple-crown overall last year and Cooper Webb in 2019.

Manufacturer Wins in DFW Metroplex (Last Win)

Honda: 13 (’11)
Kawasaki: 10 (’20)
Yamaha: 9 (’08)
Suzuki: 3 (’14)
KTM: 3 (’19)
Can-Am: 2 (’76)


Most Wins in DFW Metroplex

1) Chad Reed: 4 (’03-’04, ’06, ’08)
2) James Stewart: 3 (’05, ’07, ’14)
2) Rick Johnson: 3 (’85, ’87-’88) 4) Ryan Dungey: 2 (’10, ’15)
4) Ryan Villopoto: 2 (’12-’13)
4) Ricky Carmichael: 2 (’01-’02)
4) Kevin Windham: 2 (’99-’00)
4) Jeremy McGrath: 2 (’93, ’96)
4) Damon Bradshaw: 2 (’91-’92)
4) Jimmy Ellis: 2 (’75-’76)
4) Eli Tomac: 2 (’18, ’20)


450SX Class: First Time Winners in DFW Metroplex

Jimmy Ellis: 1975 (Texas Stadium)
Jean-Michel Bayle: 1990 (Cotton Bowl)
Doug Henry: 1995 (Texas Stadium)
James Stewart: 2005 (Texas Stadium)
Marvin Musquin: 2017 (AT&T Stadium)


250SX (Formerly 125cc) Class: DFW Metroplex Facts

The first 250SX (125cc at the time) Class race held in the DFW Metroplex was on May 4, 1985 and Bobby Moore won the race on a Suzuki.

Irving’s Texas Stadium hosted a 250SX Class race from 1985-1989 and 1991-2008 before it wasdemolished. Dallas’ Cotton Bowl held one 250SX Class race in 1990. AT&T Stadium has held a 250SX Class (or support class) race every season since 2009. That makes the 2021 250SX Class Arlington Supercross 1 the 36th 250SX Class race in the DFW Metroplex.

Grant Langston gave KTM their first ever 250SX Class victory in Texas Stadium in 2001. It was also Langston’s first victory.

Champion’s Paradise? The winner of the DFW Metroplex’s 250SX Class race has gone on to win the Championship 22 times in 35 seasons, including five of the past six years. Chase Sexton won last season’s triple crown with a 2-1-2 overall and went on to win the title.


250SX class (& 125 class) Manufacturer Wins in the DFW Metroplex (Last Win)
Kawasaki: 13 (‘19)
Honda: 8 (’20)
Suzuki: 6 (’10)
Yamaha: 5 (’16)
KTM: 2 (’15)
Husqvarna: 1 (’18)


Top Winners in the DFW Metrople

Dean Wilson: 2 (’11, ’13)
Ryan Villopoto: 2 (’06, ’08)
Grant Langston: 2 (’01, ’05)
Jeremy McGrath: 2 (’91-’92)


250SX Class: First Time Winners in the DFW Metroplex

Bobby Moore: 1985 (Texas Stadium)
Ty Davis: 1988 (Texas Stadium)
Grant Langston: 2001 (Texas Stadium)
Ryan Villopoto: 2006 (Texas Stadium)
Blake Baggett: 2010 (AT&T Stadium)
Adam Cianciarulo: 2014 (AT&T Stadium)


450SX Class Past Winners in the DFW Metroplex

1975: Jimmy Ellis, Can-am
1976: Jimmy Ellis, Can-am
1977: Bob Hannah, Yamaha
1983: Mike Bell, Yamaha
1984: Johnny O’Mara, Honda
1985: Rick Johnson, Yamaha
1986: David Bailey, Honda
1987: Rick Johnson, Honda
1988: Rick Johnson, Honda
1989: Jeff Ward, Kawasaki
1990: Jean-Michel Bayle, Honda
1991: Damon Bradshaw, Yamaha
1992: Damon Bradshaw, Yamaha
1993: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1994: Mike LaRocco, Kawasaki
1995: Doug Henry, Honda
1996: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1997: Jeff Emig, Kawasaki
1998: Ezra Lusk, Honda
1999: Kevin Windham, Honda
2000: Kevin Windham, Honda
2001: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki
2002: Ricky Carmichael, Honda
2003: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2004: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2005: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2006: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2007: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2008: Chad Reed, Yamaha
2010: Ryan Dungey, Suzuki
2011: Trey Canard, Honda
2012: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2013: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2014: James Stewart, Suzuki
2015: Ryan Dungey, KTM
2016: Ken Roczen, Suzuki
2017: Marvin Musquin, KTM
2018: Eli Tomac, Kawasaki
2019: Cooper Webb, KTM
2020: Eli Tomac, Kawasaki


250SX (and 125CC) Class Past Winners in the DFW Metroplex

1985: Bobby Moore, Suzuki 1986: Keith Turpin, Honda
1987: Kyle Lewis, Honda
1988: Ty Davis, Suzuki
1989: Mike LaRocco, Yamaha
1990: Denny Stephenson, Suzuki 1
1991: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1992: Jeremy McGrath, Honda
1993: Doug Henry, Honda
1994: Jimmy Button, Suzuki
1995: Damon Huffman, Suzuki
1996: Mickael Pichon, Kawasaki
1997: Kevin Windham, Yamaha
1998: John Dowd, Yamaha
1999: Nathan Ramsey, Kawasaki
2000: Greg Schnell, Yamaha
2001: Grant Langston, KTM
2002: Travis Preston, Honda
2003: James Stewart, Kawasaki
2004: Ivan Tedesco, Kawasaki
2005: Grant Langston, Kawasaki
2006: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2007: Ben Townley, Kawasaki
2008: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2010: Blake Baggett, Suzuki
2011: Dean Wilson, Kawasaki
2012: Justin Barcia, Honda
2013: Dean Wilson, Kawasaki
2014: Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki
2015: Marvin Musquin, KTM
2016: Cooper Webb, Yamaha
2017: Justin Hill, Kawasaki
2018: Zach Osborne, Husqvarna
2019: Austin Forkner, Kawasaki
2020: Chase Sexton, Honda


Dan Lamb is a 12+ year journalist and the owner of MotoXAddicts.