The next three rounds of the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship series will take place in Atlanta, Georgia and the city will now add a triple header to the already storied Atlanta SX racing history. While SX has visited Atlanta nearly every year since 1977, 2021 will mark the first time the series will be tearing up the infield of the famed Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Check out all the historical stats attached to the Atlanta SX racing history. Scroll to the bottom to view the three track maps for the Atlanta 1, Atlanta 2 and the Atlanta 3 SX’s.

450SX Class: Atlanta Facts

The first 450SX Class race held in Atlanta was on March 5, 1977 and Bob Hannah won the race on a Yamaha. The series has only missed Atlanta twice since 1977 (1987 and 1988).

Fulton County Stadium hosted 14 450SX Class races from 1977 through 1992 before being demolished. The largest domed stadium in the world was being built right up the road and would begin hosting Supercross in 1993. The Georgia Dome stood until 2017 hosting 26 450SX Class races before it too was demolished in lieu of Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Mercedes-Benz Stadium entered the Supercross fray with a bang hosting a Triple Crown in its inaugural season of 2018. The series returned to the Benz in 2019 and 2020 as well.

Atlanta will host a different kind of “Triple Crown” this season than previous and in a brand new 450SX Class venue. Atlanta Motor Speedway is set to host Rounds 13 through 15 becoming the 62nd different venue to host a 450SX Class race and fourth within the Atlanta market. Atlanta Motor Speedway has been open since 1960 and Dale Earnhardt is the winningest racer with nine NASCAR victories there. The first Atlanta race will be the 44th 450SX Class race in the Atlanta Market.

Late season surge? The winner of the Atlanta Supercross has gone on to win the 450SX Class title 25 times in 43 seasons, including 10 straight seasons from 1998 through 2007. This is the latest in the season Atlanta has ever been scheduled as it typically falls right in the middle of the season.

450SX Manufacturer Wins in Atlanta (Last Win)
Yamaha: 11 (’09)
Honda: 11 (’20)
Kawasaki: 8 (’15)
Suzuki: 6 (’13)
KTM: 6 (’19)
Husqvarna: 1 (’18)


Most 450SX Class Wins in Atlanta
Jeremy McGrath: 5 (’94, ’96, ’98-’00)
Ricky Carmichael: 5 (’01-’03, ’05-’06)
Ryan Dungey: 5 (’10, ’12, ’15-’17)
Bob Hannah: 3 (’77, ’79, ’82)
Mark Barnett: 3 (’81, ’83, ’85)
Damon Bradshaw: 3 (’91-’93)
James Stewart: 3 (’07, ’09, ’13)


450SX Class: First Time Winners in Atlanta
Bob Hannah: 1977
Chuck Sun: 1980
Jeff Stanton: 1989
Damon Huffman: 1997
Davi Millsaps: 2008

250SX Class: Atlanta Facts
The first 250SX Class race held in Atlanta was on February 23, 1985 and Eddie Warren won the race on a Kawasaki.

Fulton County Stadium hosted six 250SX Class races from 1985-1992. The Georgia Dome took over from 1993 through 2017 and hosted 26 250SX Class races. Last season marked the third 250SX Class race in Mercedes-Benz Stadium, making the first Atlanta race the 36th 250SX Class race in the city. It will be held at Atlanta Motor Speedway this season.

The 250SX Class race in Atlanta had been an Eastern Regional round every season until 2019 when it was one of the two 250SX Class Showdowns. In 2021 for the first time ever Atlanta will be a Western Regional race.

The winner of the 250SX Class Atlanta Supercross has gone on to win their Regional title in 24 of
35 seasons, including Chase Sexton last year.

Manufacturer Wins in Atlanta (Last Win)
Kawasaki: 10 (’19)
Honda: 9 (’20)
Yamaha: 8 (’15)
Suzuki: 5 (’07)
Husqvarna: 2 (’17)
KTM: 1 (’15)


Most 250SX Wins in Atlanta
Brian Swink: 2 (’91-’92)
Ricky Carmichael: 2 (’97-’98)
Christophe Pourcel: 2 (’09-’10)
Justin Barcia: 2 (’11-’12)
Martin Davalos: 2 (’14, ’16)


250SX Class: First Time Winners in Atlanta
Eddie Warren: 1985
Keith Turpin: 1986
Denny Stephenson: 1990
Doug Henry: 1993
John Dowd: 1996
Ricky Carmichael: 1997
Josh Grant: 2008
Dean Wilson: 2011
Wil Hahn: 2013
Martin Davalos: 2014


450SX Class Past Winners in Atlanta
1977- Bob Hannah; Yamaha
1978- Marty Tripes; Honda
1979- Bob Hannah; Yamaha
1980- Chuck Sun; Honda
1981- Mark Barnett; Suzuki
1982- Bob Hannah; Yamaha
1983- Mark Barnett; Suzuki
1984- Johnny O’Mara; Honda
1985- Mark Barnett; Kawasaki
1986- Rick Johnson; Honda
1989- Jeff Stanton; Honda
1990- Jeff Ward; Kawasaki
1991- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha
1992- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha
1993- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha
1994- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha
1995- Mike LaRocco; Kawasaki
1996-Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha
1997- Damon Huffman; Kawasaki
1998- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha
1999- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha
2000- Jeremy McGrath; Yamaha
2001- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki
2002- Ricky Carmichael; Honda
2003- Ricky Carmichael; Honda
2004- Chad Reed; Yamaha
2005- Ricky Carmichael; Suzuki
2006- Ricky Carmichael; Suzuki
2007- James Stewart; Kawasaki
2008- Davi Millsaps; Honda
2009- James Stewart; Yamaha
2010- Ryan Dungey; Suzuki
2011- Ryan Villopoto; Kawasaki
2012- Ryan Dungey; KTM
2013- James Stewart; Suzuki
2014- Ken Roczen; KTM
2015- Chad Reed; Kawasaki
2015- Ryan Dungey; KTM
2016- Ryan Dungey; KTM
2017- Ryan Dungey; KTM
2018- Jason Anderson; Husqvarna
2019- Cooper Webb; KTM
2020- Ken Roczen; Honda


250SX Class Past Winners in Atlanta
1985- Eddie Warren; Kawasaki
1986- Keith Turpin; Honda
1989- Damon Bradshaw; Yamaha
1990- Denny Stephenson; Suzuki
1991- Brian Swink; Honda
1992- Brian Swink; Suzuki
1993- Doug Henry; Honda
1994- Ezra Lusk; Suzuki
1995- Mickael Pichon; Suzuki
1996- John Dowd; Yamaha
1997- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki
1998- Ricky Carmichael; Kawasaki
1999- Ernesto Fonseca; Yamaha
2000- Stephane Roncada; Yamaha
2001- Nathan Ramsey; Yamaha
2002- Chad Reed; Yamaha
2003- Brock Sellards; Yamaha
2004- James Stewart; Kawasaki
2005- Grant Langston; Kawasaki
2006- Josh Grant; Honda
2007- Ryan Dungey; Suzuki
2008- Trey Canard; Honda
2009- Christophe Pourcel; Kawasaki
2010- Christophe Pourcel; Kawasaki
2011- Justin Barcia; Honda
2012- Justin Barcia; Honda
2013- Wil Hahn; Honda
2014- Martin Davalos; Kawasaki
2015- Jeremy Martin; Yamaha
2015- Marvin Musquin; KTM
2016- Martin Davalos; Kawasaki
2017- Zach Osborne; Husqvarna
2018- Austin Forkner; Kawasaki
2019- Adam Cianciarulo; Kawasaki
2020- Chase Sexton; Honda


Three track maps for the Atlanta 1, Atlanta 2 and the Atlanta 3 SX’s.


Dan Lamb is a 12+ year journalist and the owner of MotoXAddicts.